Our Write Side – Page 2 of 103 – writing tips | author services | book reviews

book-reviews-featured-image-2-2560819

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule. To commemorate their Great Victory, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the

Jun 19, 2016 by Kat Avila in Book Reviews

Every Sunday we shine our spotlight on one author by way of interview. We are fascinated with the world of writing and all the wonderful real live characters that live within in. This week’s caricature is Mari Adkins, a southern gothic author with an incredible

Jun 19, 2016 by Stephanie Ayers in Interviews

We’ve noticed a slightly disturbing fact about comma usage. Most writers don’t know how to do it. I’ve seen it in bestsellers, in self-published, and frequently missed by editors. Once you get the rules down, less confusion results in less editing, at least punctuation wise.

Jun 18, 2016 by A.L. Mabry in Mull’s Musings

Today’s special feature is a short poem from one of our contributors, J.K. Allen. I love this idea of defining blue in her poetic way. Enjoy! J.K. Allen received her BA in Creative Writing and English from Michigan State University. She did her senior thesis

Jun 18, 2016 by Stephanie Ayers in Featured Poetry and Shorts 2 Jun 17, 2016 Friday Fiction

Welcome to the brand new Friday Flash writing prompt. This is the space where the number of words you use to tell your story really matters! Every week we will offer you a new prompt. In 500 words or less, write a response using all

4 Jun 17, 2016 Our Write Showcase

Our team’s taste is as vast as their minds are creative. We have book lovers of all genres scattered among us, and between the thirteen of us, we have compiled our very first summer reading recommendation list. Below we share 25 titles in no particular

0 Jun 16, 2016 OWS Blog

“All the world is made of faith, and trust, and pixie dust.” ~ J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan In my first marriage trust was an issue. I trusted my husband’s faithfulness for far too long even though his behavior did nothing to elicit this. Just my

the-darkroom-featured-image-2530164 0 Jun 16, 2016 OWS Prompts

Welcome to the Darkroom where we open our photo album to you to help spark your creativity. Each week we offer a new photo, but the story is yours to write. The Rules, because there are always rules: 1. The photo is here to spark

0 Jun 15, 2016 OWS Blog

You have to read a lot of books to be considered well-read. Did you have to read that sentence a few times to make sure you read it right? Heteronyms – Words that are spelled the same, but are pronounced differently (difference emphasis on difference

0 Jun 15, 2016 Coldly Calculating

Welcome to Coldly Calculating: Writing by the Numbers. I will be your host each week as we probe the darker corners of your imagination. This series is meant to help feed your mystery/horror muse, so try to give us chills! The prompt is open to